REVIEW: Don't Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

A powerful story of a girl who is afraid to touch another person’s skin, until the boy auditioning for Hamlet opposite her Ophelia gives her a reason to overcome her fears.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good. Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together... which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin. It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn't sure she's brave enough to let herself fall. Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who's fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her. 
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

I received an advanced reader's edition of this book from the author for free in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 
  3.5 of 5 stars. Please read my rating system further below. 
As someone with anxiety, I definitely was a little hesitant to request and to read a book that deals with a mental illness that I suffer. I am so glad that I did read Don't Touch. Not only has Rachel M. Wilson written about the reality of severe anxiety, but she has also written/created one of the most lively and entertaining cast of characters that I've ever read about. I love the protagonist Caddie, but I loved the supporting characters even more. They all made me giddy and hysterical, especially Oscar. I also really liked the relationship between Caddie and Peter that developed throughout the novel. I especially liked how careful Peter was about being near Caddie, and how he helped her overcome her anxiety. Overall, I really enjoyed reading Don't Touch. I loved how it could make me feel all emotions, and I would definitely recommend to readers who are looking for a less "fluffy" contemporary.

My rating system: (I do use half stars.) 
5 - I do not use the 5 star. Not because a book might not be worthy, but because a book is never perfect. 
4 - I loved it! There weren't too many flaws, and I had no trouble getting through it. (A 4 star rating is the highest rating I've ever given a book.) 
3 - I enjoyed the book, but there we're flaws that made me enjoy it less. 
2 - I finished the book, but there were too many flaws for me to enjoy it. 
1 - I could not finish the book, and I probably did not finish it....